Cape Town Opera announces 2023 soloists

From left are Cape Town Opera soloists Conroy Scott, Nobulumko Mngxekeza, Brittany Smith and Lukhanyo Moyake. PICTURE: Annène van Eeden

Cape Town Opera held their celebratory year-end function at the Zeitz MOCAA Ocular Lounge in the Silo District where they honoured the board of directors, patrons and funders; announced their four soloists for 2023 and shared what’s in store for the year ahead.

In a year that began with Covid restrictions, the company delivered 97 performances, from mainstage productions to community concerts and opera for babies, and capped it by winning an International Opera Award for one of their educational programmes, Foundation Studio.

Managing Director Alex Gabriel thanked the board of directors, Cape Town Opera staff and contractors, funders and patrons for their support, while artistic director Magdalene Minnaar talked the invited guests through the 2023 seasons and also introduced the four new permanent Cape Town Opera soloists – Brittany Smith, Nobulumko Mngxekeza, Lukhanyo Moyake and Conroy Scott, who performed with Alex Gabriel at the piano.

Cape Town Opera is one of South Africa’s largest permanent non-profit performing arts organisations.