Plenty of new faces at Sub-council 20

A presentation by a City official at a previous sub-council meeting.

There will be plenty of new faces at the first Sub-council 20 meeting of the year, including a new secretary and chairman to replace Brigitte Francis and Ian Iversen respectively.

Other new faces are Carolynne Franklin, Eddie Andrews and Emile Langenhoven, the three new Constantia valley ward councillors voted into office during the municipal elections last year.

Keith Miller, from the office of the speaker, said City manager Lungelo Mbandazayo would determine the date for the first meeting but it could only be held after the amended Sub-council By-Law, as approved by council on Thursday January 27, had been promulgated in the Provincial Gazette, mostly likely on Friday February 4, but that depended on the printers.

The agenda for the first meeting would include constituting the sub-council, electing the chairperson and establishing ward committees as well any other matters the City manager deemed urgent, Mr Miller said.

The City manager would decide whether the inaugural meeting would be held online, as has been the case with the sub-council meetings since the start of the pandemic.

The sub-council manager would chair the first meeting until a new chairperson was elected.

Ms Franklin said she felt sub-council meetings were underutilised by the public.

“Without sub-councils we wouldn’t be able to fulfil our mandates or job descriptions. They are the glue that binds wards together, and they are the repository of valuable and necessary information,” she said.

Visit for more information about sub-councils.