Ward 73 in a nutshell

Ward 73 is not without its challenges but its election candidates differ on exactly what those challenges are.

Ward councillor for re-election Carol Bew, of the DA, says the ward’s main challenges are vagrancy, dumping, traffic congestion, bad driver behaviour, ageing infrastructure, law enforcement infringements and crime.

However, Ursula Schenker, ward candidate for the Freedom Front Plus feels a lack of public participation is one of the ward’s biggest challenges. Ms Schenker is a police trauma counsellor and heads several senior citizen forums.

She says: “Judging from community feedback (Ward 73’s challenges are) lack of communication and public participation regarding issues like cell masts, land rezoning, housing and rates and electricity increases.”

Ms Schenker is contesting wards 63, 73 and 74 for the FF+.

She adds: “Another challenge is a lack of affordable senior retirement facilities, as many seniors only get an old age grant from SASSA (South African Social Security Agency). As the adult children have to prioritise to meet challenges like school fees and aftercare, there is just not enough money to help their parents.”

Ms Bew said the ward had not been without its improvements over the last five years. She referred to the building and refurbishment of several play parks, road upgrades, the installation of CCTV cameras in hot spots, the resurfacing of tennis courts and provision of sports equipment, LED upgrades for street lights and road landscaping, among other things.

In the 2011municipal elections, 72.86 percent of Ward 73’s nearly 15 000 voters went to the polls. Of the 10 707 voters who did turn up, 94.66 percent voted for Ms Bew.

Other candidates for the ward include Mogamat Salie Layloo of the Africa Muslim Party, the ACDP’s Grant Haskin, the ANC’s Jason Adams, Fairouz Nagia-Luddy from Al Jama-Ah, Valma Pfaff from Al Shura Party, Isgak Adams from the Cape Muslim Congress, Jack Miller from the Cape Party, Fahdia Jackson from Coloured Voice, COPE’s Shehnaz Cassim-Moosa, the EFF’s Ncedo Silas, Fatima Davids from the Independent Civic Organisation Of South Africa, Achmat Williams from the National Party South Africa, Michelle Calitz from the National People’s Party, Leanda Yekani from the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania, Godfrey Leibrandt from the Patriotic Alliance and Ismail Bagus from Sizwe Ummah Nation.