Sandes wins Maxirace Cape Winelands in dominant fashion

Perfect weather conditions saw Ryan Sandes win the 2020Maxirace Cape Winelands 75km race on Saturday December 12.

In his first and only race for 2020, thanks to the global Covid-19 pandemic, Ryan Sandes took a convincing win at the weekend’s Maxirace Cape Winelands 75km race in a time of 7hrs32min43sec, with Grobler Basson second in a time of 7hrs58min18sec.

“This morning was really epic, those Mont Rochelle mountains are insane,” said Sandes.

“I had a very comfortable day and am super stoked to take this win today! Running 160km around my house during lockdown clearly helped with my training.”

Just one month after winning the women’s race and taking third place overall at the 2020 K-Way Skyrun Mountain Race in Lady Grey, international Skyrunning champion, Ragna Debats, showed her incredible power by once again being the first woman over the line and third place overall at the Maxirace Cape Winelands in a time of 8hrs03min40sec.

“What a beautiful race, I loved the first climb and ascent,” said Debats. “Such beautiful hilly mountains for the rest of the race, and the views, wow. I loved this race!”

Second place in the women’s race went to Jana van Houwelingen in 9hrs36min45sec, with Amri Williamson in third place in 10hrs04min54sec.

Bruce Arnott took podium position for the 40km route in a time of 3hrs44min05sec, with Matthew Burke in second place in 3hrs56min51sec and Anele Bans in third in 4hrs01min28sec. Rose Baily was the first woman over the line in a time of 4hrs28min13sec, with Marna van Deventer in second place in 4hrs45min36sec and Elmi Middlemost in third place in 4hrs51min31sec.

Llewellyn Groeneveld set a new record time for the 20km route, finishing in an incredible 1hr22min21sec.

George runner, Anderson Ncube took second place in 1hr25min58sec with Zola Ngxakeni in third in 1hr34min53sec.

The women’s race was won by Christelle Hattingh in 1hr46min26sec, with Rochelle Green in second place in 1hr53min22sec and Ash Graham in third place in 1hr55min41sec.