Moving house is allowed for now

Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma addresses the media about the meeting they had with the traditional leaders regarding Covid-19. Picture: Oupa Mokoena/African News Agency (ANA)
Starting on Thursday May 7, citizens can now move to their new homes, but this must be done by Sunday June 7.

The announcement by Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, states that its “purpose is to facilitate the movement of persons and goods within and across provincial, metropolitan or district boundaries during the period of Alert level 4.”

The directive refers “to the movement of persons and goods, where new lease agreements were entered into before or during the lockdown period or the transfer of immovable property occurred before the lockdown period, requires a change in place of residence, including the transport of goods to a new place of residence, within the Republic.”

Those who will be travelling during this time would require permits from a “station commander of a police station or a person designated by him or her.”

The provincial government has encouraged all those who have been looking forward to this opportunity to immediately make use of it.